Pictured above: Amersfoort, Netherlands (Winner, European City of the Year 2023)

The Urbanism Awards

The Urbanism Awards are a fundamental aspect the Academy of Urbanism’s commitment to learning from place. Through the Awards, the AoU and members investigate and recognise some of the best, most enduring or most improvement urban environments, in turn strengthening our national and international relationships and knowledge base.

Jump to the Archive

The Urbanism Awards have been a key output of the AoU since its inception, and from start to finish the process offers a brilliant CPD opportunity for AoU members. From shortlisting discussions, to in-person visits, all the way to the Awards Ceremony, the programme allows members to contribute and gain expertise, perspective, and ideas.

Next stage: Assessment visits from July to September

Find a full timeline breakdown listed below.

The Urbanism Awards: Highlights

Process & timeline:

  1. Call for nominations: January - March (Open to everyone)
  2. Shortlisting: March (Open to Academicians + Young Urbanists)
  3. Finalists announced: June (Click here to read 2024 announcement)
  4. Assessment visits: July - September (Open to Academicians + Young Urbanists)
  5. Voting: October (Open to AoU Members)
  6. Awards Ceremony: Wednesday 13 November 2024 (Save the date)

European City of the Year category:

  • Bristol, England
  • Helsinki, Finland
  • Reggio Emilia, Italy

Great Town / Small City category:

  • Bath, Somerset
  • Lewes, Sussex
  • Shrewsbury, Shropshire

Great Neighbourhood finalists:

  • Beaulieu, Chelmsford
  • Graylingwell, Chichester
  • Port Loop, Birmingham

Great Street finalists:

  • Church Street, Stoke Newington
  • Old York Road, Wandsworth
  • Strand Aldwych, Westminster

Great Place finalists:

  • Arc Westcliff, Scunthorpe
  • Mayfield Park, Manchester
  • Union Terrace Gardens, Aberdeen

Great Place archive

Since the first Awards in 2006, we have visited, assessed, and celebrated 239 outstanding examples of good urbanism across the UK, Ireland, and Europe.

There are five awards given:

And these are assessed on the following:

  1. Leadership and Governance: Is the place well managed, inclusive, fair?
  2. Local Character: To what extent does the place provide a distinctive sense of place, identity and cultural resonance?
  3. Amenity & Housing: To what extent is the place an attractive, safe and enticing place for people to live, work, play, visit and enjoy?
  4. Commercial Success & Viability: To what extent does the place provide a conducive environment for wealth creation and distribution and is it able to support the maintenance and improvement of its urban environment?
  5. Environmental Sustainability: To what extent does the place exhibit and promote environmental sustainability?
  6. Community, Health and Wellbeing: To what extent does the place exhibit and promote civic behaviour, social cohesion, health and wellbeing?
  7. Connectivity: To what extent does the place provide transport and access options to an appropriate range of urban services?

The Great Place Award Winners

The Great Street Award Winners

The Great Neighbourhood Award Winners

The Great Town or Small City Awards Winners

The European City of the Year Award Winners

The Academy of Urbanism (Number 2) Limited is a not-for-profit organisation limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales 0595604, 11c Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 IXE, United Kingdom.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse