The Urbanism Awards are the Academy’s primary platform for recognising the best, most enduring or most improved urban environments. Through the Awards we promote and learn from places that demonstrate positive social, physical and economic urbanism.

Help support this work, and have your say by submitting a nomination for 2024. The five categories are: Place, Street, Neighbourhood, Town and, European City.

The call for nominations is open to all, whether you are a member of the AoU or not. Later stages of the process - shortlisting, assessment visits, and voting - are Members only.

What are we looking for?

Old or new, large or small, known or unknown - we are looking for the places that work well. These could be places you've lived in, visited, worked on, or researched. The categories are as follows:

  • European City of the Year
  • Great Town
  • Great Neighbourhood
  • Great Street
  • Great Place

Using the form linked here or embedded at the bottom of this page, please provide an explanation on why you think your nomination is worthy of an Urbanism Award. This could include particular schemes, stories, or challenges. The criteria to consider in your nomination can be found here.

The process & restrictions

The Urbanism Awards programme runs throughout the year and comprises four major stages: nomination, shortlisting, assessment, and voting. It culminates in the Urbanism Awards Ceremony in November.

Nomination is the first part of the programme, and enables us to consider a wide range of candidates including ones our panelists haven't heard of, and ones in new locations.

All categories are open to places in the UK and Ireland, with the European City category open to cities in the UK, Ireland, and Europe.

Places that have reached the finalist stage within the past 10 years are not eligible for nomination in 2024 - the list of these places can be found below.


If you have any questions, or require any guidance, please contact Connie at [email protected]


Sunday 3 March 2024

Exempt from nominations in 2024

The following have been shortlisted in the last 10 years and are therefore not eligible for the 2024 Urbanism Awards:

European City:

  • Aarhus, Denmark
  • Amersfoort, Netherland
  • Bilbao, Spain
  • Bologna, Italy
  • Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Eindhoven, Netherlands
  • Estepona, Spain
  • Exeter, England
  • Istanbul, Turkey
  • Leipzig, Germany
  • Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Malaga, Spain
  • Malmo, Sweden
  • Marseille, France
  • Mechelen, Belgium
  • Montpellier, France
  • Nantes, France
  • Porto, Portugal
  • Rotterdam, Netherlands
  • San Sebastián, Spain
  • Sheffield, England
  • Stockholm, Sweden
  • Trieste, Italy
  • Turin, Italy
  • Utrecht, Netherlands
  • Vienna, Austria
  • Zurich, Switzerland

Great Town:

  • Aberystwyth, Wales
  • Barnsley, England
  • Belper, England
  • Beverley, England
  • Blackpool, England
  • Brighton & Hove, England
  • Bury, England
  • Buxton, England
  • Caernarfon, Wales
  • Chelmsford, England
  • Clonakilty, Ireland
  • Corby, England
  • Cork, Ireland
  • Coventry, England
  • Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
  • Dundee, Scotland
  • Frome, England
  • Grantham, England
  • Halifax, England
  • Hastings & St Leonards, England
  • Inverness, Scotland
  • Margate, England
  • Milton Keynes, England
  • Paisley, Scotland
  • Penzance, Cornwall
  • Stromness, Scotland
  • Todmorden, England

Great Neighbourhood:

  • Ancoats, Manchester
  • Ashley Vale, Bristol
  • Ballynafeigh, Belfast
  • Balsall Heath, Birmingham
  • Broughty Ferry, Dundee
  • Byker, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Devonport, Plymouth
  • Devonshire Quarter, Sheffield
  • Golden Lane Estate, London
  • Govanhill, Glasgow
  • Grand Canal Quarter, Dublin
  • Hackney Wick, London
  • Holbeck Urban Village, Leeds
  • Hulme, Manchester
  • Kelham Island, Sheffield
  • Leith Shore, Edinburgh
  • Levenshulme, Manchester
  • Marmalade Lane, Cambridge
  • Newhall, Harlow
  • Old Town, Hastings
  • Ouseburn, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • Portobello, Edinburgh
  • Saltaire, Bradford
  • Smithfields, Dublin
  • South Bank, Leeds
  • West End, Glasgow

Great Street:

  • Argyle Street, Glasgow
  • Barnes High Street, London
  • Belgrave Road, Leicester
  • Berkhamsted High Street, Berkhamsted
  • Bridge Street / North Street, Taunton
  • Cairns Street, Liverpool
  • Deptford High Street, London
  • Duke Street Dennistoun, Glasgow
  • Elwick Road / West Street, Ashford
  • High Street, North Berwick
  • Humber Street Fruit Market, Hull
  • Kirkgate, Leeds
  • Lamb's Conduit Street, London
  • Lark Lane, Liverpool
  • Mill Street, Perth
  • Newry Street, Armagh
  • North Street, Bristol
  • Oliver Plunkett Street, Cork
  • Park Lane, Poynton
  • Rye Lane, London
  • Smallbrook Queensway, Birmingham
  • Solar Avenue, Leeds
  • South William Street, Dublin
  • St Mark's Road, Bristol
  • St Peter's Lane, Canterbury
  • Venn Street, London
  • Wood Street, London

Great Place:

  • Bishops Square, London
  • Brooke Park, Derry
  • Cathedral Square, Peterborough
  • Christmas Steps Arts Quarter, Bristol
  • Claypits Nature Reserve, Glasgow
  • Colquhoun Square, Helensburgh
  • Connswater Community Greenway, Belfast
  • Custard Factory, Birmingham
  • Gaol Ferry Steps, Bristol
  • Gloucester Docks, Gloucester
  • Granary Square, London
  • Greenwich Market, London
  • Irvine Harbour, Irvine
  • Kilmainham Civic Space, Dublin
  • Leicester Market, Leicester
  • Maritime Quarter, Swansea
  • Old Market Square, Nottingham
  • Peace Bridge / Ebrington, Derry
  • Roald Dahl Plass, Cardiff
  • Scale Lane Bridge, Hull
  • Seaburn, Sunderland
  • Spanish City, Whitley Bay
  • St Nicholas Market, Bristol
  • St Pancras International, London
  • The Brunswick Centre, London
  • The Piece Hall, Halifax
  • Viking Triangle, Waterford
The Academy of Urbanism (Number 2) Limited is a not-for-profit organisation limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales 0595604, 11c Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 IXE, United Kingdom.
Log in | Powered by White Fuse